“My Things”

So, part of healing… is confronting something and admitting how it effects our life.

My brother recently made a comment to me about how I always have a new “thing”. My response to his comment was “shut up!”, but it did get me thinking and had to talk it over with my wife. We all have ‘things’ we do that are ours and do as a hobby or for fun.  I thought it would be therapeutic to list out all the ‘things’ I’ve had over the years, cause I might have a lot of them.

This might hurt, but here we go.

Turtle, ferret, drawing, mountain biking, rollerblading, long boarding, photography, guitar, working out, aquarium, snowboarding, gardening, website, motorcycle, quads…

Man, I feel like there’s more…

rand2I guess I could count.

School, Counseling, Faith/Religion… Do I have to put blogging?

This is what I have for now, but I may have missed something. If I can think of more, I’ll add it to the post at a later point. I don’t know if I feel better about having so many ‘things’, but at least it’s out in the open and I can now start thinking now this plays a role in my life.

“My Things”

One thought on ““My Things”

  1. Sheila says:

    Hey Dev
    I found your post very interesting today. Although, I must admit I’m a little confused as to why you or someone else would think that trying new “things” is abnormal or unhealthy. Actually, trying new things and having different interests is quite healthy.

    Remember Erik Erikson? His psychosocial stages described exactly what you did as an adolescent and are doing in early adulthood. This theory names the stage in adolescence (11-18) identity vs. role confusion. This is where you explored values and vocational goals, tried new hobbles, explored all the things that interested you. According to Erikson, if this stage is not fully developed, we get stuck in role confusion.

    The stage you are in now is called intimacy vs. isolation (18-40). If all the prior stages had not been completed successfully one would not be able to maintain intimate relationships, instead be isolated. This stage lasts until at least 40. You are developing now the intimate relationships that mean the most to you, ie; faith, family, career, meaningful hobbies and outlets. There are two more stages (the ones I’m in now) and they are continuous. We never really stop doing a “thing”, if we did, we would be stagnant and being stagnant is…well…stinky.

    I believe you had a childhood that allowed you to develop into an adult that is an active, contributing member of society. Yes….we’ve had our bumps in the road, for sure. Although very unpleasant at times, we take these assaults and treasure them as lessons.

    I’m so very proud of you and am looking forward to hearing more about your thoughts on this subject and your journey of healing.
    Much love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

